National Hispanic Heritage Month

Established by a Presidential Executive Order in 1968 | President Lyndon B. Johnson

National Hispanic Heritage Month is celebrated in the U.S. from September 15 to October 15.

Why these dates?
During this time, Latinos nationwide celebrate the anniversary of independence for five Latin American countries—Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico declared its independence on September 16, and Chile on September 18. Spain celebrates its Independence Day on Oct. 12, but in Mexico it is also known as Día de La Raza because that is when Columbus discovered America and started a “new race.” Click here to see the dates of the celebration by our diverse Spanish-speaking, Latin American and Central American cultures.

Most importantly, this month-long celebration of Latino heritage aims to promote an awareness of Latino issues, struggles, and triumphs, bringing together individual and collective histories in order to form a deeper understanding of who we are today.

The following are resources for educators for Hispanic Heritage Month. All of them provide similar resources — accessible biographies of Hispanic-Americans, history, multimedia, and more:

  • Biography Channel Hispanic Heritage
  • CNN Special Report: The Hispanic Experience Today
  • Library of Congress - Teachers Resources
  • National Archives - Teach Docs
  • National Endowment for the Humanities
  • National Park Services - Teaching with Hispanic Places
  • Scholastic’s Celebrate Hispanic Heritage
  • Smithsonian Education Hispanic Heritage Teaching Resources
  • Smithsonian Institution’s Ojos
  • Smithsonian Latin Center’s Kids Corner
  • Scholastic’s lesson plans for celebrating Hispanic Heritage called Dare, Dream, Do.

  • Read the Presidential Proclamation for Hispanic Heritage Month 2018
  • Facts for Hispanic Heritage Month from the US Census Bureau.
  • Click here for information on PBS programming that celebrate Latino Heritage.
  • We The People: TODAY Looks at Hispanic America